合成鑽石證書

合成鑽石(synthetic diamonds),也稱為“人造鑽石”、“實驗室合成鑽石”或“製造的鑽石”,是指在實驗室製造而成的鑽石;與天然鑽石不同的是,天然鑽石形成於地球內部,是一個自然過程。

用於工業目的的工業鑽石急劇短缺的現象隨着合成鑽石的出現得到了一定的緩解。半個多世紀以來,已有多種不同的技術手段應用於製造合成鑽石。近年來,技術上已可製造出寶石級的合成鑽石,其大小和重量已經可以用於商業用途。

目前,每年寶石級合成鑽石的產量只有區區數千克拉,但是總的天然鑽石產量達到了每年1億2千萬克拉。幾乎所有的合成鑽石都是彩鑽;大多數為黃色、橙色、藍色,很偶然的情況下為無色或接近無色。

IGI 實驗室合成鑽石證書提供與 IGI 鑽石證書相同的信息,但是該證書的顏色為黃色。合成鑽石的腰部用激光刻上證書編號及 “lab grown” 標誌。這些步驟是為了保護消費者的知情權。

只有當寶石具備品質證明的證書時才能放心交易。無論在世界的任何一個角落,一份權威可靠的 IGI 實驗室證書就代表了整個寶石學世界共同認可的信賴與信心。

Laboratory Grown
Diamond Report

Synthetic diamonds, also referred to as "man-made" "lab-grown" or "created" diamonds, are diamonds manufactured in a laboratory— as opposed to natural diamonds, which form naturally within the Earth.

The acute shortage of industrial quality diamonds, mainly used in a variety of industrial applications, has been improved in part by the advent of synthetic diamonds. These have been manufactured by a range of different technological processes for over half a century. However, in recent years it has become technologically possible to produce gem-quality synthetic diamonds of commercially significant size and weight.

At present, the annual production of gem quality synthetic diamonds is only a few thousand carats, whereas the total production of natural diamonds is around 120 million carats per annum. Nearly all synthetic diamonds are fancy-colored; mostly yellow, orange, blue, and, very occasionally, colorless to near-colorless.

The IGI Laboratory Grown Report provides the same information as the IGI Diamond Report but the color of the report is yellow. The synthetic diamond's girdle is also laser inscribed with the report number as well as the words "lab grown." These steps are taken in the interest of clear delineation for consumers.

Gemstones should only change hands when accompanied by a certificate attesting to quality. Regardless of location or marketplace, an authentic IGI Laboratory Report is the common language of trust and confidence in the gemological world.